All initial teacher education programs are accredited by the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP), the new accrediting organization for educator licensure programs that is the result of the consolidation of NCATE and TEAC. This accreditation indicates that these teacher education programs follow CAEP's five standards, which center on: (1) Preparing teachers who have strong content and pedagogical knowledge, (2) Meaningful field experiences, (3) Attracting competitive and diverse cohorts, (4) Impacting the P-12 students in their classrooms upon graduation, and (5) Regular self-assessment and evidence based decision to make continuous improvements to our programs. In addition, the College's programs are accredited or approved by seven different accrediting agencies. These are:

  • American Psychological Association (APA)
  • Commission on Accreditation of Athletic Training Education (CAATE)
  • The Council on Academic Accreditation in Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology (CAA)
  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling & Related Educational Programs (CACREP)
  • National Association of School Psychologists (NASP)
  • Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP)
  • New Mexico Public Education Department (NMPED)